Presentation Evening 2015

Hinckley Running Club held their annual presentation evening at The Atkins Building on Saturday night with many club members being recognised for their 2014 achievements.

The evening began with the Junior Division Athletics Awards after a successful season of athletics inside/on the track and also in cross country (XC). As a result of their successful season, 11 club members will be representing Leicestershire in the Regional Sports Hall Finals in February.

Most Improved Athlete went to Elise Cook-Sutton for improving in every field event that she competed in at Saffron Lane along with making a clear improvement in her long distance running. The Spirit of Athletics Awards went to Bethan Padbury for her time spent being an Assistant Coach at training sessions, assisting the younger children in competitions and being an ambassador herself by competing in both the junior athletics division and senior XC events.

Bethan Padbury Spirit of Athletics with coach Martin Lynch

Bethan Padbury Spirit of Athletics

Ben Thomas scooped Male Athlete of the Year for his success in track competitions and XC races. Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to Emily Buckler for her track and XC successes and for setting 6 club records this season. Both athletes have regularly represented their schools throughout the season. Senior Club Chairman John Padbury then presented the Senior Division Chairman’s Award to Jayne Thomas for her outstanding contributions to the Junior Division. Despite the many hours Jayne dedicates to the Junior division, she also manages to attend club training herself on a regular basis.

Emily BucklerJunior Female Athlete of the year 2014
Emily BucklerJunior Female Athlete of the year 2014 with coach Jayne Thomas
Ben Thomas Junior Male Athlete of the year 2014
Ben Thomas Junior Male Athlete of the year 2014 with coach Shawn Wilebore
Jayne Thomas Chairmans Award 2014
Jayne Thomas Chairmans Award 2014 with Chairman John Padbury
Jayne Thomas Chairmans Award and Ben Thomas Junior Male Athlete of the year 2014
Jayne Thomas Chairmans Award and Ben Thomas Junior Male Athlete of the year 2014

The Senior Awards night began with the preceding title holder Jacqui Campbell awarding Celine Guery with Beginner of the Year for her outstanding progress since joining Jacqui’s beginners group and the running club. Club president Geoff Oliver then went on to present the President’s Shield Awards which include a free 2015 membership to the club for the winners. The awards are based on a points system for individuals performance in the Leicestershire Road Racing League (LRRL). First place for the ladies went to Gill McGarry. Sarah McSharry came in second and third place was awarded to Kate Perkins. The Men’s first place was awarded to Chris Limmer. Edward Batch was awarded second place with third place going to Jonathan Strong.

Celine Guery beginner of the year
Celine Guery (centre) beginner of the year with ladies captain Andrea Earley (left) and last years beginner of the year Jacqui Campbell (right)

LRRL rep Sarah Garford presented the following LRRL trophies to club members:
100% attendance in the league was awarded to Kate Perkins, Sarah McSharry and Gill McGarry. As a result of the ladies teams winning division 1 and 2, Penny Masser, Katy Grainger, Kate Perkins and Sarah McSharry from the ladies A team were presented with trophies for gaining the most points within the team. The ladies B team trophies went to Gill McGarry, Odette Foxall, Jenny Green and Sarah Garford.

Kate Perkins
Kate Perkins with her 100% and Bronze standard time

Men’s captain Jonathan Strong and ladies captain Andrea Earley then went on to present the club’s Times Standard Awards. Runners can gain an award by completing 5 different race distances within the times set by the standards. A distinction can be achieved by completing all 9 distances within the scheme which must include a marathon and a 20 mile race.Bronze Awards were presented to Rolf Hoelmer, Kate Perkins, Kev Higham, Jonathan Strong, Andrea Earley, Rachel Hallett, Steven Penney, Rachel Southworth, Tom Wormleighton, Julia Waite, Ed Nixon, Céline Guéry and Jacqui Campbell. Bronze Distinctions were presented to Ed Batch, Leanne Byard and Jenny Green.

Silver Awards were presented to Odette Foxall, Matt Johnson, Jenny Green, Ben Masser, Lisa Freestone and Karl Scally. Silver Distinctions were awarded to Katy Grainger and Sarah McSharry.Gold Awards were presented to Jo Martin, Chris Langham, Sarah McSharry, Simon Earley, Sarah Garford, Dave Limmer and Chris Limmer. Penny Masser was presented with a Gold Distinction. Assistant Coach Jenny Green presented the Coaches Award to Andrea Earley for setting an excellent example to other runners by coming back stronger than ever after injury to achieve her first Times Standard Award.

Andrea Earley coaches award
Andrea Earley receiving the coaches award from Chairman John Padbury

Sarah McSharry scooped the Ladies Runner of the Year presented by last years winner Kate Perkins. The award is voted for by fellow club members who were inspired by Sarah after going from strength to strength in 2014 after jumping from achieving Bronze times to Gold times in less than 12 months and shaving over 30 minutes off her marathon PB.

Last years male Runner of the year Jonathan Strong presented Joint winners Ed Nixon and Geoff Oliver with this years shield. Ed has progressed at an outstanding rate since joining the club and his strongest year yet was duly noted by fellow club members, ending with a sub 4-hour first marathon. Geoff is a long standing inspiration to club members but 2014 saw him achieving 8 world records in one race for the over 80’s and his determination to return this year is a further inspiration.

Geoff Oliver and Ed Nixon ROY 2015
Geoff Oliver and Ed Nixon Male Runner of the year

Club Secretary Paul Clayton and Chairman John Padbury presented the penultimate Lifetime Achievement Award to Penny Masser and Steve Hatcher which includes lifetime membership. Both individuals have been club members for over 20 years and have made significant contributions to the club. Penny has been an excellent ambassador for the club at races throughout her membership and has held the post of Club Secretary. Penny has also been an integral part to organising Thursday evening running routes throughout her time at the club. Steve has been Men’s captain, Head Coach and XC captain which includes organising the clubs annual XC race. Steve has also spent many voluntary hours travelling far and wide to provide support to club members during training, races and endurance events, assisting on his bike and putting up tents whatever the weather.

Penny Masser lifetime achievment
Penny Masser lifetime achievement award

The club would also like to congratulate member Rachel Hallett for running her 100th park run on Saturday and being the first club member to reach this milestone. Hinckley Running club meet on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 6:15pm outside the Small Hall in Hinckley Leisure Centre. For more information contact Paul Clayton on or visit The junior athletics division has grown to 108 members and train at Green Towers every Wednesday from 4.45 – 5.45pm and welcomes young aspiring runners and athletes of all abilities. For more information contact Andy Lauder on


Bronze standard time awards
Bronze standard time awards and distinctions; Rolf Hoelmer, Ed Batch, Jonathan Strong, Steven Penney, Tom Wormleighton, Jenny Green, Céline Guéry, Andrea Earley, Jacqui Campbell, Ed Nixon, Julia Waite and Leanne Byard
Silver awards
Silver awards Jenny Green and Odette Foxall
Gold awards
Men’s Vice Captain and runner of the year Ed Nixon with Gold award achievers; Chris Langham, Jo Martin, Dave Limmer, Simon Earley, Chris Limmer and Sarah Garford.


Ben Masser
Ben Masser with his first Silver standard time award