Derby Runner XC – Race 1 Information

Here is the information from Desford Striders about the upcoming cross country race at Bagworth Heath on Sunday 22nd October 2017:

XC Race 1 Bagworth details_2017ย (click to view PDF)

Please note especially the requirement about car sharing โ€” minimum 3 to a car. As usual we will be organising a car share from Hinckley for this race, so look out for more info nearer the time here or on the members’ Facebook group. Edit: Car Share Info Here

It would be great to see lots of members taking part in the XC this season. Remember it’s only 3 quid (and 1 quid for juniors) and it’s a lot of fun! All members are welcome and encouraged to take part, it doesn’t matter how slow you think you are or if you haven’t done one before! You will need some trail shoes because it is likely to be very muddy. A HRC vest will also be needed and these are available for ยฃ15 – contact Penny Masser. I (Nick) am also happy to take vest orders and pass them to Penny.

There is no need to book a place in these races – they are “turn up on the day” and open to all members of league clubs.ย England Athletics affiliation is NOT needed to race in Derby Runner league.

As a reminder, here are all the Derby Runner XC dates for the coming season:

22 Oct 2017 Bagworth Heath (organised by Desford Striders)
12 Nov 2017 Markfield (West End Runners)
26 Nov 2017 Holly Hayes Woods (Hermitage Harriers)
10 Dec 2017 Bradgate Park (Roadhoggs)
21 Jan 2018 Allestree Park (Derwent RC)
18 Feb 2018 Grace Dieu Manor School (Shepshed RC)
11 Mar 2018 Bosworth Battlefield (Hinckley RC)

Also on Saturday 6th Jan will be the Leics County XC Champs. This was held in Burbage Common for the last two years, but in 2018 will be in Rotherby. More info when we get it.

And to brighten up this post here’s our seniors team from last year’s Bagworth race:

Tuesday Training – 3 Oct

Logix Park (Same place as the 5K start)
Even pacing practice – 4 X 5mins at 5K race pace (2.5mins out and back) with a 3min rest
This is a repeat of the Barwell Lane session 3 weeks ago with a change of venue due to Barwell Lane being dark at 7.
Meet at Leisure Centre from 6:15 for a 6:30pm depart or meet at Logix Park at 6:45pm
Remember Hi-vis as it will be dark on the jog back


Thursday routes – 28 Sep

Long route 9.1 miles (W09 ‘Long’ in the big book)

Yes, it’s our favourite Winter route!!! To Barwell, Earl Shilton and back ๐Ÿ™‚

The short route takes you to Barwell town centre and then straight back (without doing the Earl Shilton loop), by also omitting the Tudor Rd / Hollycroft Hill loop at the end it’ll be around 6 miles.

Hi Viz tops are now essential as it’s sadly dark by 7pm.

6.15pm meet at Hinckley Leisure Centre for 6.30pm prompt departure.

See you there ๐Ÿ™‚


Thursday routes – 21st Sep

Long 9.3 miles (‘S04 long’ in the big book)…we should be able to get around Aston Flamville before darkness but hi-viz tops will be required by all those planning on running this route as we will finish in the dark!

Short 6.7 miles (‘S04 short’ in the big book)

6.15pm meet for a 6.30pm prompt departure
See you there ๐Ÿ™‚


Thursday night route – 14 Sep

Please study the routes carefully as they are not in the ‘big book’!

We will be heading out along Burbage Common Lane – the first 5 miles takes us to Earl Shilton after which we will be running on street-lit roads but please wear hi-viz tops as it will be dark by the end of our run.

Long route: 8.9 miles

Short route : 6.7miles

6.15pm meet for a 6.30pm prompt departure

See you there


LRRL Results 2017

The final results have been announced for the LRRL 2017 season, which concluded on Saturday 3rd September with the John Fraser 10 race.

In the individual awards, Chris Langham has earned the award of 3rd Vet 45 (and 18th place in the league overall) after an outstanding season of racing.

Chris Langham racing in the John Fraser 10 mile road race

In all, 50 members of HRC took part in the summer league’s 7 races: West End 8, Gaddesby 7, Swithland 6, Hungarton 7, Joy Cann 5, Hermitage Carl Rutt 10k and John Fraser 10.

Three Hinckley runners completed the “100%” of representing the club in all 11 of the Winter and Summer league races and these were Chris Langham, Liz Aspden-Mansfield and Kate Perkins – what a commitment.

I have excerpted the league tables for Hinckley members below, and elsewhere on this website you can find full results for every race and you can find the full league tables on the LRAN site.

In the club league side of things, both the Mens and Ladies team have finished 8th out of the 10 in their leagues, only just avoiding the bottom two which would have meant relegation. So I am pleased to say both will still be in Div 1 next year! Despite strong running the lower turnouts for some races meant our teams did not do as well this year as last.

Our thanks to the organisers of the league and all the clubs and volunteers putting on the races. Congratulations to all the winners and to Matt Adcock and Jo Male who were the overall champions of the league this year.

Men’s Table

(Points are allocated 500 pts for 1st place, 499 pts for 2nd place, and so on. Best 5 scores count.)

#AthleteAge CatWE 8Gad. 7Swi. 6Hun. 7JC 5Her. 10kJF 10TotalCat Pos 
18Chris LanghamVM4546947847147446948147523793
35Nick MooreSenM411456458459458224221
63Harry LanghamU20M39443143238141337020512
132William PitherVM40292332282254299351329160324
139Rob PrattVM55390373387361151110
195Christopher LimmerSenM483481326129077
220Jonathan StrongSenM389407421121788
225Geoffrey OliverVM60249216241287209120210
315Joe LanghamSenM449437886108
341Edward NixonVM4025529527882860
349Tom WormleightonSenM398411809118
360Ian SylvesterVM6025323928077230
369Richard GuestSenM246282234762125
372Rolf HoelmerVM4040335075365
410James McBeanSenM321329650136
421Greg PollardVM4029631861473
461Simon BirchSenM496496148
524Mark JonesSenM409409179
547Tim PayneVM5038038080
603Ali HigginsVM45309309105
635Robert DimblebySenM259259209
663Roy RussellVM5521521560

Women’s Table

#AthleteAge CatWE 8Gad. 7Swi. 6Hun. 7JC 5Her. 10kJF 10TotalCat Pos
13Kate PerkinsSenF47647746948248549244424129
24Celine GuerySenF469480470470463235215
40Penny MasserVF5043645444645546222536
66Kerry WitteringVF4538939639038241119689
107Elizabeth Aspden-MansfieldVF45334355322331329382325173119
109Jenny GreenSenF432430444423172948
111Michelle FowlerVF45439431426428172420
138Odette FoxallVF40306335278296299151423
160Leanne ByardSenF459457457137362
192Erica FisherVF6029629731228911947
197Nicola DuttonSenF377395387115975
205Stephanie HarrisSenF288267295282113277
221Emma ThompsonSenF362378311105184
248Diane WildburVF6030931830092711
263Judy McSharryVF5529932526488824
267Debbie MooreVF4544044088046
281Elaine DoranVF4542540983451
299Sally HendersonSenF404372776121
320Charlotte May SinclairSenF350326676135
322Julia WaiteVF4035931467367
330Andrea EarleyVF4531833665458
338Sarah McSharrySenF300327627140
350Elaine WischhusenVF6032626659215
380Bethan PadburyU20F4844843
385Rebecca GouldSenF472472160
391Sarah GarfordSenF463463163
480Jodie BrownSenF333333208
484Julie HudsonVF4533233283

Hinckley runners after the JF10